Class begins again!

This post marks the end of ENC1142-10 “Gypsies, Tramps, and Thieves: Writing Creatively about Romani Culture” (well… it ended back in April) and the beginning of ENC1142-03. I feel especially fortunate to have worked with my past class of creative and critical writers, and I’m so excited about this semester’s group. 

Over the summer I had the opportunity to go on a writer’s retreat in Verderonne, France with the Cambridge Writer’s Workshop which I won’t go on at length about here, but I will say that it was such a nurturing ad intelligent community of writers and incredibly helpful for my novel. I stayed on in Paris for another week to research post-WWII Romani culture in Paris, and I had the opportunity to see some absolutely unreal Manouche jazz at L’Atelier Charonne, a fantastic bar and restaurant that has Gypsy jazz EVERY NIGHT from 9-12. If you’re interested, I go on at length about these experiences at jessicareidy.com 

I’ve been wondering if it’s relevant to the discussion we have on this blog to add that my story “We Rise Up” was story of the week in Narrative Magazine several weeks ago. It is relevant because it’s about Romani culture and social issues, I’m just feeling shy. And honored. Very honored.

So that’s what happened over summer vacation. I’d like to invite my past students to get involved in this semester’s discussions as much or as little as you like. You can also just run happily in the other direction. Follow your bliss.

And for my new students, your 300 word blog responses are due Friday at midnight and you need to make a five-sentence comment on another classmate’s response by Sunday at midnight. I’m looking forward to reading your posts. 

And I’d also like to say, welcome back to all the lovely and supportive readers outside this class. We so appreciate your insights and your readership. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

